1 min

The United States joins the Paris Call for cybersecurity

As part of her diplomatic trip to France, U.S. Vice President Kamala Harris announced that the U.S. is joining the Paris Call for Trust and Security in Cyberspace, which was launched in 2018 and now includes almost 100 governments

On a diplomatic visit to France, where she met with President Emmanuel Macron and participated in the fourth edition of the Peace Forum, U.S. Vice President Kamala Harris announced on 12 November 2021 that her country will join the Paris Call for Trust and Security in Cyberspace.

Launched in 2018 by France, this agreement aims to promote cybersecurity and “preserve an open, interoperable, secure, and reliable Internet.” It now brings together more than 95 governments, nearly 350 international organisations, and more than 600 private sector entities.

The Paris Call is based on nine principles:

  • Protect individuals and infrastructure
  • Protect the Internet
  • Defend electoral processes
  • Defend intellectual property
  • Non-proliferation of malicious software
  • Lifecycle security
  • Cyber hygiene
  • No private hack back
  • Implementation of international norms of “responsible behaviour

In a statement, the White House welcomed the opportunity to “work with like-minded nations to identify and hold accountable those states that engage in destructive, disruptive, and destabilising cyberattacks.”

Send this to a friend